Talk to your supervisor. Make the necessary arrangements and adjustments, if needed, to your current duties and/or schedule to accommodate your pregnancy, disability, or paternity leave.
Make an appointment with the Benefits office. The Benefits office will advise you about eligibility requirements for various protected leaves available including:
- Family Medical Leave (FMLA) a federal law which requires certain employers to provide up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave to eligible employees for:
- incapacity due to pregnancy
- prenatal medical care or child birth
- care for the employee's child after birth or placement for adoption or foster care
- care for the employee's spouse, son, daughter or parent, who has a serious health condition
- a serious health condition that makes the employee unable to perform the employee's job
- Pregnancy Disability Leave (PDL) a California law which requires employers to provide up to 4 months of unpaid leave for the period of disability (pro-rated for part-time employees), as determined by a medical provider (available on the first day of employment with no service requirements). LLNS continues its contribution towards health benefits during the PDL.
Check with your LLNS medical plan about programs they may offer. Many offer programs to support pregnant women and new parents.
- Pregnancy Disability Leave (PDL)
- Family Care and Medical Leave (CFRA Leave) and Pregnancy Disability Leave
- Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
- Rights and Obligations as Pregnant Employee
Why disability? Because that's the benefit that pays part of your salary while you're on leave having your baby. For an uncomplicated pregnancy, your disability benefits generally begin two weeks before your expected delivery date (LLNS Supplement Disability) or four weeks before your expected delivery date (California SDI) and continue for six weeks after the birth of your child.
Last Day Worked for Expectant Mothers
Determined by your doctor and may be before your due date. You may be able to use employee sick leave and/or vacation leave during your absence to supplement disability payments or in place of disability payments. Unpaid leave of absence may be requested.
Last Day Worked for Other Parent
A parent or adoptive parent may use up to eight (8) hours of accrued sick leave for his/her attendance at the birth of their child. A parent or adoptive parent may also use up to eighty (80) hours of accrued sick leave within twelve weeks of the date of birth or adoption for care of the child. In addition, in the case of a family illness the other parent may use up to 30 workdays of accrued sick leave in the fiscal year for required attendance or care of an ill family member. Or you may use vacation leave during your absence. Unpaid leave of absence may be requested.