Update Your Benefits
Enroll your child. You have 31 days after the birth to add your child to your benefits.
Talk to Benefits Office about how to enroll your child in medical, dental, vision, life insurance and other benefits.
You also may enroll in the Health and/or Dependent Care Flexible Spending Accounts. If you're already enrolled, you can increase your contributions.
Update Your Beneficiaries
This is a good time to review your beneficiary designations for your benefits, too.
You can update beneficiaries for the LLNS Defined Benefit Plan, life insurance and AD&D by signing in to LAPIS.
Update your 401(k) Plan beneficiaries by signing in to your account on netbenefits.com.
Additional Time Off Beyond Disability
If you have worked for LLNS for at least one year and worked at least 1250 hours in the previous 12 months, you may be eligible to take up to 12 unpaid work weeks to bond with your child under the California Family Rights Act (CFRA).
This leave must be taken within 12 months from the date of birth or adoption.
Approval for vacation leave or personal leave without pay beyond your disability should be coordinated through your department.
Paid Family Leave is a California Law that provides income replacement for up to 6 weeks in a 12-month period to bond with a new minor child.
Benefits are paid at approximately 55% of lost wages through the State of California's Disability Insurance (CA SDI) after a 7 day waiting period. Vacation can be used at 45% to keep your wages at approximate 100% during this period.