Awards cap Earth Week celebration

April 20, 2012

Awards cap Earth Week celebration

Linda A Lucchetti,, 925-422-5815
An awards ceremony Thursday to recognize environmental efforts wrapped up the Lab's Earth Week 2012 activities.

Jennifer Doman, Pollution Prevention/Sustainability (P2S) Program manager, presented awards and certificates of appreciation to 44 employees while invited supervisors and managers looked on. The award categories include:

DOE E*Star - The award winners who were announced by Department of Energy headquarters in Oct-Nov 2011 and were previously recognized last Earth Day for the NNSA version of the award were recognized this year as leaders that have inspired other institutional changes in such areas as SF-6 (sulfur hexafluoride) reduction and ePay upgrade. Recipients are: Richard Fairchild, Keith Lewis, Renee Lopez, Tim Ross, Justin Shinn, Vern Switzer, Alda Vargas and Jan-Mark Zentler. ( See photo of those present here .)

DOE Green Buy Gold - DOE initiated a new, voluntary incentive program to encourage sites to track and report on programs that successfully purchase sustainable products. This new award recognizes many data providers that supply information to the P2S program to facilitate awards such as this. Thirty-one sites competed. LLNL is one of three gold winners, along with the National Renewable Energy Lab and Princeton Plasma Physics Lab. Gold is the highest level award, and LLNL received it the first time out.

Recipients are: Traci Bailey, Roy Bayani, Kathy Bochenski, Mike Bohannon, Kim Bosque, Lisa Byer-Allen, Sabre Coleman, Tony Dean, Chris Hasey, Cher Loder, Larry Lopez, Bill Maciel, Jose Pineda, and Orlando Soto. ( See photo of those present here. )

P2S Sustainability Star - This award recognizes individuals that have gone 'above and beyond' to support P2S and the Lab's efforts.

Recipients are: Traci Bailey, Kim Bosque, Joe Byrne, Partha Chakravarthy, Paul Corrado, Kris Franzke, Becky Ip , Greg Lee, Jean Lindsey, Ed Loosli , Deb Montero, Yunki Paik , Jesse Pugh, Dave Sieg, Orlando Soto and Ken Walden. ( See photo of those present here .)

P2S Advocates -- Individuals were recognized for demonstrating leadership in implementing the principles of pollution prevention and sustainability, actively seeking opportunities to inspire change and providing ideas and suggestions.

Recipients are: Dione Ancheta, Kathy Bochenski, Lisa Byer-Allen, Dawn Chase, Craig Fish, Bob Foerschle, Karen Folks, Dexter Lenoir, Linda Lucchetti, Warren Rued and Joe Woods. ( See photo of those present here .)

Photos by Jacqueline McBride/LLNL