Posts tagged with "APS"

APS award

LLNL physicist wins APS excellence award

Jul. 11, 2018 -  
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory ( LLNL ) magnetic fusion physicist Max Fenstermacher has been awarded the 2018 John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research from the American Physical Society . He is cited jointly with Todd Evans of General Atomics and Richard Moyer of the...

Lab scientist earns award for plasma physics

Jul. 19, 2017 -  
Though Dmitri Ryutov formally retired from Lawrenece Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) about a year ago, he maintains a close connection to the Lab via his visiting science professional (VSP) status. And for his work in plasma physics during his 22-year stint at LLNL and previous research at the...

Four Lawrence Livermore National Lab researchers selected as 2016 APS Fellows

Oct. 26, 2016 -  
LIVERMORE, California – Four Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) scientists have been selected as 2016 fellows of the American Physical Society (APS). Election to APS fellowship recognizes the society member’s exceptional contributions to the field of physics through research, leadership...

Four Lawrence Livermore researchers named 2013 APS Fellows

Dec. 23, 2013 -  
LIVERMORE, Calif. - Four Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory scientists have been selected as 2013 fellows of the American Physical Society (APS). Physicist Charles Cerjan was cited by the Division of Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics for "seminal contributions to time-dependent Schrodinger...

Yu-hsin Chen receives APS outstanding doctoral thesis award

Jul. 24, 2012 -  
Yu-hsin Chen, an LLNL postdoc in the NIF & PS Directorate, has been selected to receive the 2012 Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award by the American Physical Society Division of Plasma Physics. The award, sponsored by General Atomics, was established to recognize "...

NIF team wins esteemed plasma physics award

Jul. 19, 2012 -  
A far-reaching discovery about laser-matter interaction with important implications for the National Ignition Facility (NIF) has led to the selection of a team of researchers named recipients of the 2012 John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research. The award, established by the...

Lawrence Livermore physicist John Edwards elected 2011 APS fellow

Jan. 25, 2012 -  
John Edwards, associate program director for inertial confinement fusion (ICF) and high energy density (HED) science at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL), has been selected as a 2011 American Physical Society (APS) fellow. Edwards was cited in the plasma physics category for fundamental...

Grad student Swanberg recognized by APS

Jan. 18, 2012 -  
Erik Swanberg, a graduate student working in the Lab's Experimental Nuclear Physics Group, received the Margaret Burbidge Award from the American Physical Society (APS) California Section at the organization's fall 2011 meeting. Swanberg, who will earn a Ph.D. in nuclear engineering from UC...