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Having a baby or welcoming a 
new child into the family? 
LLNS is here to help you understand your 
leave benefits. This guide will help you 
understand how your leave works and 
provide you a checklist to help guide you.

If you need additional information about 
time away from work policies at Lawrence 
Livermore National Security (LLNS), please 
visit the policy website at HR Policies or 
contact our Benefits Office at  
1-925-422-9955 and ask for one of our 
Leave Management Specialists.  
This booklet provides an overview of the laws and benefits 
applicable to extended leaves from work. Additional information 
can be found on the Benefits Office website at https://benefits.
llnl.gov/. LLNS has leave management specialists to meet with 
you and help you through this process. Call the Benefits Office at  
1-925-422-9955 to schedule an appointment.
This material is based on California law and some aspects may 
differ for out-of-state employees. Be sure to contact the Benefits 
Office.

https://human-resources.llnl.gov/policies
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I’m having a 

Job Protection

BABY

The Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA), California Family Rights Act (CFRA), and Pregnancy Disability 
Leave (PDL) offer job protection before and after the birth of your child. If you are eligible, all three 
leaves guarantee reinstatement to the same or equivalent position when you return to work. The 
chart below outlines the maximum workweeks you are entitled to under each leave. Your health 
care provider determines the actual amount of time that you are considered to be disabled by the 
pregnancy, childbirth or related medical condition. Per LLNL policy, you are entitled to up to 12 months 
of leave after the birth of your child for bonding. The leave can be taken without pay or you may use 
vacation. You will be reinstated into the same or equivalent position when you return. Please review 
Family and Medical Leave Policy at https://human-resources.llnl.gov/policies/.

Per LLNL policy, you are entitled to up to 12 months of leave after the birth of your child for bonding. The leave can be taken 
without pay or you may use vacation. You will be reinstated into the same or equivalent position when you return.

Job Protection Benefits Reason Resource

Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
Pregnancy-related disability

HR Policies
Bonding with your new baby

California Family Rights Act (CFRA) Bonding with your new baby HR Policies

Pregnancy Disability Leave (PDL)

Prenatal/postnatal care

HR Policies

Severe morning sickness

Doctor-ordered bed rest

Post-partum depression

Recovery from childbirth

Other pregnancy-related medical conditions

Time Off for New Moms
Congratulations! You are welcoming a new child into your 
family, and there is a lot to think about. Rest assured, both job 
protection benefits and paid leave benefits are available during 
your maternity leave. How much you get paid and for how long 
depends on a number of factors, including whether you have 
Supplemental Disability Insurance and how much sick leave and 
vacation time you have accrued and want to use. See below for 
details and scenarios.

https://human-resources.llnl.gov/policies/
https://human-resources.llnl.gov/policies
https://human-resources.llnl.gov/policies
https://human-resources.llnl.gov/policies
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Pay During Leave

California State 
Disability Insurance 
(CASDI)

California Paid  
Family Leave For  
Bonding (PFL) with Paid 
Parental Leave (PPL)

California State Disability Insurance (CASDI) and California Paid Family Leave (CA PFL) are 
available for maternity leave if you live in California. You may use your own sick leave and/
or vacation accruals to supplement your pay from CASDI and Paid Parental Leave benefits 
to supplement your pay from PFL. Additionally, LLNS has an option for you to purchase 
supplemental disability through The Hartford. Here’s how it works:

CASDI typically provides benefits for up to 
four weeks before your expected due date 
and six weeks (normal delivery) or eight 
weeks (Cesarean section) after the birth.

To apply, visit SDI Online. You will find 
information, instructions and a how-to 
video.

CASDI pays either 60% or 70% of your 
pay during your leave, depending on your 
income,up to a weekly maximum of $1,620 
for 2024.

The Disability/PFL Calculator on the CASDI 
website helps you estimate your payment.

You can elect to supplement CASDI with 
your sick leave and/or vacation accruals.

You may supplement CASDI with sick leave 
to receive up to 80% of your salary.

•	 You can also elect to supplement 
CASDI up to 100% with your vacation.

There is a seven-day waiting period before 
disability benefits begin.

•	 During this time, you can elect to use 
your own sick leave and/or vacation 
pay or choose not to be paid.

The new LLNS Paid Parental Leave (PPL) 
program will supplement CAPFL when 
bonding for 8 weeks at 80% of your weekly 
pay, with no weekly benefit maximum.

•	 After CASDI benefits end, you are 
eligible for CA PFL benefits to bond 
with your new baby.

•	 CA PFL pays either 60% or 70% of your 
pay, depending on your income, up to a 
weekly maximum of $1,620 for 2024. 

•	 You can elect to supplement CA PFL for 
bonding with PPL.

•	 You may supplement CA PFL for 
bonding with PPL to receive 80% of 
your weekly salary and may choose to 
use your vacation accruals to receive 
up to 100%.

	› You can use the Disability/PFL 
Calculator on the CASDI website 
helps you estimate your payment. 

https://www.edd.ca.gov/Disability/SDI_Online.htm
https://edd.ca.gov/Disability/PFL_Calculator.htm
https://edd.ca.gov/Disability/PFL_Calculator.htm
https://edd.ca.gov/Disability/PFL_Calculator.htm
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Wage Replacement Benefits

Reason How much? How long?

California State Disability 
Insurance (CASDI)

Pregnancy-related 
disability

Provides either 60% or70% 
of your pay,depending 
on your income, up to 
a weekly maximum of 

$1,620 for 2024.
4 weeks before your 

expected due date and 
for 6 weeks (normal 
delivery) or 8 weeks 

(Cesarean section) after 
birth

You may supplement 
CASDI with sick leave to 
receive up to 80% of your 

salary and may choose 
to use up to 20% of your 
vacation to get to 100%.

Paid Family Leave (PFL) 
with Paid Parental Leave 
(PPL)

Bonding with your new 
baby

Provides either 60% or70% 
of your pay,depending 
on your income, up to 
a weekly maximum of 

$1,620 for 2024.

8 weeksCA PFL combined with 
PPL can pay 80% of your 
weekly earnings, with no 
weekly benefit maximum 

and you may choose 
to use your vacation to 

receive up to 100%.

Supplemental Disability
Supplemental Disability Insurance, offered 
through The Hartford, supplements the 
disability coverage available to you through 
CASDI, provides coverage to employees outside 
of California and could pay a higher level of 
benefits during your maternity leave. You may 
enroll in supplemental disability within 31 days 
after first becoming eligible. However outside 
of your eligibility period if you do not enroll, or 
want to increase your benefits, you will need to 
submit Evidence of Insurability to The Hartford.

See the LLNS Supplemental Disability Plan for 
details.

https://www.llnl.gov/join-our-team/benefits/health-welfare/disability


6Maternity Leave & Paid Parental Leave I’m Having a Baby

Week Pay Job Protection

1 Sick and/or Vacation 
accruals 

FMLA / PDL

2

CASDI
Supplements with sick leave 

accruals

3

4

5

6

7

PFL Supplements with PPL FMLA / CFRA

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15
Unpaid CFRA

16

Return to Work

Every situation is different, and at LLNS, we understand that these leave benefits can 
be complicated. For questions, call the Benefits Office at 1-925-422-9955.

Questions?

EMILY: 
A HEALTHY PREGNANCY & NORMAL 
DELIVERY

Emily goes into labor prior to 
the start of her leave and files 
a claim for disability benefits 
when her child is born. 
Because she has a normal 
delivery (not a C-section), 
she receives five weeks of 
paid leave from CASDI after 
a seven-day waiting period 
and supplements CASDI 
with her employee sick leave 
accruals. After six weeks, she 
is no longer disabled, so her 
disability benefits end. Emily 
then takes eight weeks of Paid 
Family Leave and two weeks 
of unpaid leave to bond with 
her baby.

During the first six weeks, 
Emily is covered by PDL and 
FMLA, which protect her job. 
Once she is no longer disabled 
and her CASDI benefits end, 
CFRA provides job protection 
while Emily is bonding with her 
baby. In this situation, FMLA 
overlaps with PDL and the first 
6 weeks of CFRA.

Maternity Time-off Examples To Help Illustrate Your Benefits
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Week Pay Job Protection

1 Sick and/or Vacation Accruals 

FMLA / PDL

2

CASDI

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

CA PFL Supplements
with PPL and Vacation accruals

PDL

15

CFRA

16

17

18

19

20

21

Return to Work

Maternity Time-off Examples To Help Illustrate Your Benefits

Every situation is different, and at 
LLNS, we understand that these leave 
benefits can be complicated. For 
questions, call the Benefits Office at 
1-925-422-9955.

Questions?

Child Born

SARAH:  
A HEALTHY PREGNANCY & C-SECTION 
DELIVERY

Sarah files a claim for disability 
benefits, begins her leave 
four weeks prior to her due 
date, and delivers her baby 
during the sixth week. She 
has a C-section delivery and 
receives 12 weeks of payments 
from CASDI after a seven-day 
waiting period. After seven 
weeks, her disability benefits 
end. Sarah then takes eight 
weeks of CA PFL to bond with 
her baby and supplemented 
this with the new LLNS PPL. 
During the first twelve weeks, 
FMLA protects Sarah’s job. PDL 
runs concurrently with FMLA 
for 12 weeks and continues 
while she is disabled. Then, 
CFRA protects her job for the 
remaining leave.
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Maternity Time-off Examples To Help Illustrate Your Benefits

JESSICA:   
A HEALTHY PREGNANCY & C-SECTION 
DELIVERY

Jessica’s doctor orders her 
to go on bed rest for eight 
weeks before her due date. 
Her job is protected by FMLA 
and PDL during her disability 
due to pregnancy. Jessica uses 
accrued sick and vacation time 
for the first week, the waiting 
period. (If she had no accrued 
time, she would take unpaid 
leave.) After the waiting 
period, Jessica starts receiving 
CASDI benefits. After her baby 
is born via C-section, Jessica 
continues to receive disability 
benefits for eight weeks. (For 
c-section you can receive 
CASDI benefits for up to eight 
weeks after your delivery if 
certified by a doctor). FMLA 
protects her job for four weeks 
after her child’s birth (a total 
of 12 weeks), and PDL protects 
her job until she is no longer 
disabled (8 weeks after the 
child’s birth in this scenario). 
She then takes eight weeks of 
Paid Family Leave to bond with 
her baby while CFRA protects 
her job.

Week Pay Job Protection

1 Sick and/or Vacation Accruals 

FMLA / PDL

2

CASDI

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

PDL
14

15

16

17
-

24
CA PFL Supplements with PPL CFRA

Return to Work

Child Born

Every situation is different, and at LLNS, we understand that these leave benefits can 
be complicated. For questions, call the Benefits Office at 1-925-422-9955.

Questions?
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Maternity Leave Checklist

BEFORE PREGNANCY

FIRST TRIMESTER

SECOND TRIMESTER

THIRD TRIMESTER

Go to the Benefits Site to determine your Supplemental Disability 
needs. 

Research day care options and get on waitlists.

Meet with your supervisor to inform him/her of your time-off plans.

Work with your supervisor to make a tentative plan for team coverage 
while you are on leave.

Get Reproductive Health Counseling from your physician, if desired. 

Contact the Declared Pregnant Worker program through Health 
Services, if desired.

Meet with Benefits to discuss options for pay while on leave. Email  
loa@llnl.gov or call 1-925-422-9955 to schedule an appointment. You 
can meet with Benefits at any time, but no later than 30 days before 
your leave begins.

Encourage your supervisor to take the Extended Leaves of Absences/
Guidelines for Managers and Supervisors training. If your supervisor 
has questions, please have him or her call the Benefits Office at  
1-925-422-9955. 

Determine if you need to save sick leave and vacation accruals.

Complete the Reproductive Health and Declared Pregnant Worker 
form Health and Declared Pregnant Worker form, if desired.

Take the Employee Extended Leave of Absence Training

https://www.llnl.gov/join-our-team/benefits
https://healthservices-int.llnl.gov/php/services.php
https://healthservices-int.llnl.gov/php/services.php
mailto:loa%40llnl.gov?subject=Question%28s%29%20for%20Pay%20while%20on%20Leave
https://training-hr-int.llnl.gov/PS7027
https://training-hr-int.llnl.gov/PS7027
https://esh-dir.llnl.gov/source/ESH-DIP-05.pdf
https://esh-dir.llnl.gov/source/ESH-DIP-05.pdf
https://ltrain.llnl.gov/lms/faces/main.jspx?moduleId=courseCatalog&courseNo=PS7028-W
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DATE OF DISABILITY
File a claim at SDI Online to apply for CASDI benefits. You will also find 
written instructions and a how-to video on the site.

DURING LEAVE
Send your Notice of Computation from the State of California 
Employment Development Department (EDD) to the Benefits Office as 
soon as you receive it. You should also send a copy to The Hartford, if 
applicable.

If you are on unpaid leave:

Do not complete a timecard and tell your supervisor not to complete 
timecards on your behalf while you are on leave. This will be handled by 
Benefits and Payroll. 

Make payments to Payroll for your benefits by the 25th of the 
month. You will receive a monthly invoice from Payroll.

continue to page 11

If you have a 401(k)-plan loan, you should contact Fidelity at 
1-800-835-5095 to suspend payments or to arrange to make 
payments while you are on leave. Fidelity will re-amortize your 
loan payment to a monthly amount and will provide you with 
instructions. (Your 401(k)-plan loan may be suspended for up to 
12 months.)

WITHIN 30 DAYS BEFORE THE 
START OF YOUR LEAVE

Obtain an FMLA Certification Form from the Benefits Office. Have your 
doctor complete the form and return it to the Benefits Office. (Kaiser 
Participants: The Kaiser Business Office should complete the form.) 

Apply for supplemental disability through The Hartford, if applicable. You 
can file a claim online or by calling 1-800-741-4306 (8 a.m.–8 p.m. ET, 
Monday–Friday). LLNS Policy # 395263

If you have a Clearance, work with your administrator to update your 
leave.

If you are on leave for 45 days or longer, your administrator 
should complete the LEAP Leave of Absence Request. 
If you are on leave for 90 days or longer, you and your 
administrator must complete a department memo and health 
authorization.
Contact Central Clearance with questions.

Maternity Leave & Paid Parental Leave

https://www.edd.ca.gov/disability/SDI_Online.htm
https://mybenefits.thehartford.com/login
https://security-r.llnl.gov/contacts/help-desks
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Discuss plans to return to work with your supervisor. You may want to 
talk about flexible work options. 
Contact the Benefits Office to confirm your bonding plan, provide a copy 
of the Record of Birth from the hospital, and confirm the date of birth 
and whether you had a Cesarean section. 

Confirm plans with daycare provider.

Enroll your baby in the benefit plans. You can:

Notify Health Services if you are returning directly from maternity 
disability.

Visit Health Services if you are returning directly from maternity 
disability leave. If you took bonding time after your disability benefits 
ended, you do not need to visit Health Services.

Notify the Benefits Office at loa@llnl.gov or call your Leave 
Management Specialist at 1-925-422-9955.

View your benefits confirmation statement in LAPIS and verify all 
your benefits and paycheck deductions within 31 days. If you want to 
continue participation in flexible spending accounts, you will need to 
re-enroll when you return.

Send the Enrollment, Change, Cancellation, or Opt Out form 
to the Benefits Office.

VPN: Use the Life Event feature to enroll through LAPIS.

WITHIN 31 DAYS AFTER BIRTH

THE DAY BEFORE YOU RETURN

THE DAY YOU RETURN

Maternity Leave & Paid Parental Leave

https://www.llnl.gov/join-our-team/benefits/leave-management/flexible-work-options
https://healthservices-int.llnl.gov/php/services.php
mailto:loa%40llnl.gov?subject=Notification%20of%20my%20Return%20from%20Leave
https://www.llnl.gov/sites/www/files/2021-06/employee_enrollment_change_cancellation_form_fillable.pdf
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FAMILY

Job Protection Benefits Reason How long?

Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA)/ 
California Family Rights Act (CFRA)

Bond with your new baby, newly 
adopted or foster care child

Up to 12 weeks running 
concurrently

I’m welcoming a new 
child into my

Time off for spouses/partners, adoptive parents, and 
foster parents

Job Protection

When your family grows, you may want to take time off to bond with a new baby or child, including 
adopted and foster children.

The Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and the 
California Family Rights Act (CFRA) offer job 
protection for new parents to take time off to 
bond with a new child. If you are eligible, you 
are guaranteed reinstatement to the same or 
equivalent position when you return to work. 
(View FMLA policy at  
https://human-resources.llnl.gov/policies/ for 
eligibility).

CFRA generally mirrors the federal FMLA and 
runs concurrently if you are eligible for both. The 
chart below outlines the maximum workweeks 
you are entitled to under each leave, within 12 
months of the child’s birth, adoption, or start of 
foster care.

https://human-resources.llnl.gov/policies/
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Pay During Leave
California Paid Family Leave (CAPFL) is available 
to you if you live in California, are a part-time 
or full-time employee, and who has contributed 
to the Disability Insurance Elective Coverage 
Program at some point during the previous 18 
months. You may use PPL and vacation accruals 
to supplement your benefits you receive from CA 
PFL for bonding. Here is how it works:

•	 If eligible CA PFL pays up to 60% or 70% of 
your weekly pay, up to a weekly maximum 
of $1,620 for 2024.

Wage Replacement Benefits

Reason How much? How long?

Paid Parental Leave (PPL)
To bond with a new child 
you have welcomed in the 
past 12 months

Together PFL and PPL 
benefits provides up to 
80% of your pay

8 weeks

Using your LLNS Sick Leave Accruals

Reason What you can use

Attend birth Up to 8 hours of employee sick leave accruals

Care for spouse while disabled
Normal delivery – 6 weeks
C-section – 8 weeks 

Family sick leave accruals

Using Paid Parental Leave (PPL) and Vacation Accruals to 
Supplement CA PFL

Reason What you can use

Bond with baby-within 12 months of birth

Up to 8 weeks PPL benefits in conjunction with  8 
weeks of PFL benefits for bonding for 80% of your 
weekly salary and vacation accruals for up to 100% of 
your salary

•	 You may be eligible for 8 weeks of CA PFL 
for bonding. 

•	 You may elect to supplement CA PFL for 
bonding with PPL for up to 80% of your 
weekly pay.

	› You may supplement CA PFL/PPL with 
vacation accruals to receive up to 100% 
of your pay.
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Parental Leave Time-off Examples to Help Illustrate Your Benefits

MIKE:   
WELCOMING A NEW BABY

Every situation is different, and at LLNS, we understand that these leave benefits can 
be complicated. For questions, call the Benefits Office at 1-925-422-9955.

A total of 8 weeks is available if eligible to be used to care for his 
wife or for bonding. Mike is not eligible for PPL benefits while he 
is receiving CA PFL benefits to care for his wife. He is only eligible 
for supplemental PPL benefits when receiving CA PFL benefits for 
bonding.

He is eligible for  8 weeks of CA PFL Benefits 
through the State of California 

JOHN:    
ADOPTING A CHILD
John and his partner are adopting a baby. He applies for CA PFL 
and supplements PPL benefits to receive 80% of his pay for two 
weeks. John comes back to work for six months. He completes 
his CA PFL for bonding by taking off the remaining six weeks and 
supplements CA PFL with PPL benefits. During the entirety of his 
leave, FMLA and CFRA protect John’s job.

Mike’s wife, Amy, is having a baby. He uses eight hours of accrued 
employee sick leave to attend the birth and then uses two weeks 
of his accrued sick leave after birth to care for Amy. He then takes 
two additional weeks of Paid Family Leave ( CA PFL) to continue 
to care for Amy while she is still disabled, during this time Mike 
uses family sick leave (FSL) accruals to supplement CA PFL for the 
next two weeks. Mike then comes back to work for two months. 
Mike has 6 weeks California PFL benefits remaining. He uses four 
weeks of CA PFL for bonding with his new baby intermittently 
over the next five months and uses PPL to supplement CA PFL 
payments to receive 80% of his pay and uses his vacation accruals 
to get his pay to 100%. Mike will take his remaining two weeks of 
CA PFL for bonding that he has available before the end of the 
12-month period .He has now used his 8 weeks of CA PFL and PPL 
that he has available. During the entirety of his leave, FMLA and 
CFRA protect Mike’s job.

Questions?
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BEFORE LEAVE

BEFORE LEAVE

DATE OF LEAVE

Meet with Benefits to discuss options for pay while on leave. Email  
loa@llnl.gov or call 1-925-422-9955 to schedule an appointment. You 
can meet with Benefits at any time, but no later than 30 days before 
your leave begins, if possible.

Provide a copy of the Record of Birth from the hospital or the adoption 
or foster records to the Benefits Office to apply for FMLA/CFRA.

Take the Employee Extended Leave of Absences Training

File a claim at SDI Online to apply for CA PFL benefits. You will also find 
written instructions and a how-to video on the site. You must provide 
Benefits with your confirmation from SDI Online that you have applied 
for CA PFL benefits in order to be eligible for PPL benefits.

Encourage your supervisor to take the Extended Leaves of Absences/
Guidelines for Managers and Supervisors training. If your supervisor 
has questions, please have him or her call the Benefits Office at  
1-925-422-9955.

If you have a Clearance, work with your administrator to update your 
leave.

If you are on leave for 45 days or longer, your administrator 
should complete the LEAP Leave of Absence Request.

Contact Central Clearance with questions.

If you are on leave for 90 days or longer, you and your 
administrator must complete a department memo and health 
authorization.

mailto:loa%40llnl.gov?subject=Pay%20Options%20while%20on%20Leave
https://ltrain.llnl.gov/lms/faces/main.jspx?moduleId=courseCatalog&courseNo=PS7028-W
https://www.edd.ca.gov/disability/SDI_Online.htm
https://www.edd.ca.gov/disability/SDI_Online.htm
https://training-hr-int.llnl.gov/PS7027
https://training-hr-int.llnl.gov/PS7027
https://security-r.llnl.gov/contacts/help-desks
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DURING LEAVE
Send your Notice of Computation from the State of California 
Employment Development Department (EDD) to the Benefits Office as 
soon as you receive it. If you are supplementing your leave, you can send 
it to your Leave Management Specialist in the Benefits Office.
Do not complete a timecard and tell your supervisor not to complete 
timecards on your behalf while you are on leave. This will be handled by 
Benefits and Payroll.
If you are on unpaid leave:

Discuss plans to return to work with your supervisor. You may want to 
talk about flexible work options.
Contact the Benefits Office to confirm your bonding plan, provide a copy 
of the Record of Birth from the hospital, and confirm the date of birth 
and whether your partner had a Cesarean section.
Confirm plans with daycare provider.

Make payments to Payroll for your benefits by the 25th of the 
month. You will receive a monthly invoice from Payroll.

Within 31 Days of Birth/Adoption
Enroll your baby/new child in benefit plans. You can:

RETURNING FROM LEAVE
Notify the Benefits Office at loa@llnl.gov or call your Leave 
Management Specialist at 1-925-422-9955.
View your benefits confirmation statement in LAPIS and verify all 
your benefits and paycheck deductions within 31 days. If you want to 
continue participation in flexible spending accounts, you will need to 
re-enroll when you return.

Send the Enrollment, Change, Cancellation, or Opt Out form to 
the Benefits Office.

VPN: Use the Life Event feature to enroll through LAPIS.

If you have a 401(k)-plan loan, you should contact Fidelity at 
1-800-835-5095 to suspend payments or to arrange to make 
payments while you are on leave. Fidelity will re-amortize your 
loan payment to a monthly amount and will provide you with 
instructions. (Your 401(k)-plan loan may be suspended for up to 
12 months.)

Maternity Leave & Paid Parental Leave

https://www.llnl.gov/join-our-team/benefits/leave-management/flexible-work-options
mailto:loa%40llnl.gov?subject=Notification%20for%20Return%20from%20Leave
https://www.llnl.gov/sites/www/files/2021-06/employee_enrollment_change_cancellation_form_fillable.pdf
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HOW LEAVE AFFECTS YOUR SERVICE CREDIT
Effective August 1, 2023, service credit for vacation accruals and service awards will continue for employees on a 
leave of absence for disability or family care, including parental bonding. It does not apply to other leave types, 
such as unpaid personal leave.

You will continue to earn credited service if you return 
from an approved disability leave, USERRA (military) 
service leave or a Government Service Leave within 90 
days after the end of your leave.

For more information, see the Summary Plan 
Description.

You will be credited with one year of service for each 
plan year in which you earn 2,080 or more hours of 
service while an active member in the Plan. You will 
earn a fraction of a year of credited service in any year 
in which you work fewer than 2,080 hours.

You stop accruing service credit when you are no 
longer in pay status. You remain eligible for any 
benefits for which you were eligible before your leave 
began.

Upon return to active status following a USERRA 
(military) leave, Governmental Service leave or Workers’ 
Compensation leave, you have the option to make up 
the mandatory member contributions. The amount of 
missed mandatory member contributions is based on 
the eligible plan compensation for such period.

In order to receive hours of credited service, the 
missed mandatory member contributions must be 
completed within a maximum period of three

(3) times the length of the leave, not to exceed five 
(5) years. Contributions are made by payroll deduction 
and may be made only while you are an employee 
of Lawrence Livermore National Security. If you fail 
to make the full amount of the missed mandatory 
member contributions (plus interest in the case of a 
Governmental Service leave or Workers’ Compensation

leave) by the deadline, the hours of Credited Service 
will be prorated based on any partial repayment of 
such missed mandatory member contributions.

For more information, see the Summary Plan 
Description.

LLNS 401(K) Retirement 
Plan

LLNS Defined Benefit 
Pension Plan (TCP1)

Maternity Leave & Paid Parental Leave
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Benefit Plan While You Are Out When You Return

LLNS will continue to pay the 
employer share of your benefits 
for up to six months while you are 
receiving CA State disability or 
for the duration of your FMLA.

If you continued coverage during your leave: Your 
coverage continues.

Medical, dental and 
vision

If you are on a paid leave and are 
receiving enough pay to cover 
your benefits, your premiums will 
be deducted from your LLNS pay.

If you are on an unpaid leave or 
a paid leave but not receiving 
enough pay to cover your cost of 
benefits, you will be billed by the 
Payroll office. It is important to 
make your payments on time to 
avoid cancellation.

If you did not continue coverage during your leave: 
You can re-enroll in the same plans that you were 
enrolled in before your leave began within 31 days 
of returning to work using the Life Event option in 
LAPIS. In certain circumstances, you may enroll in 
different plans during this time period.

You can remain on LLNS benefits 
for up to two years if on an 
approved leave, but you will be 
responsible for both the employer 
and employee share after the first 
six months of leave.

If you do not re-enroll within 31 days, your next 
opportunity to enroll is during open enrollment, and 
your benefits will be effective the following year.

Legal

You can remain covered for up to 
two years if you are on an
approved leave and if you arrange 
in advance to pay the monthly 
premium. You are responsible for 
the full cost.

If you continued coverage during your leave: Your 
coverage continues.

If you did not continue coverage during your leave: 
You can re-enroll in the same plans that you were 
enrolled in before your leave began within 31 days 
of returning to work using the Life Event option in 
LAPIS.

If you do not re-enroll within 31 days, your next 
opportunity to enroll is during open enrollment, and 
your benefits will be effective for the following year.

HOW LEAVE AFFECTS YOUR LLNS BENEFITS
The benefits you receive and the way you pay for them may change if you take a leave of absence. Here is an 
overview of how leave affects your benefits. You can find more information on the Benefits Website.
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Benefit Plan While You Are Out When You Return

Supplemental Life

You can remain covered for up to 
two years if you are on an
approved leave. You must arrange 
in advance to pay the monthly 
premium and pay the full cost.

If you become permanently 
disabled, you may qualify for the 
Premium Waiver Benefit. If this is 
the case, you may continue your 
coverage without paying
the premium.

If you continued coverage during your leave: Your 
coverage continues.

If you did not continue coverage during your leave or 
if you were not enrolled: You may enroll at
any time by completing an Enrollment, Change, 
Cancellation, or Opt Out form.

Basic Life

Your coverage will continue, at no cost to you, for up to four months after the month your 
approved disability begins.	
Your coverage automatically resumes when you return.

Supplemental 
Disability

Coverage (for other disabilities) stops on 
your last day actively at work before your 
disability begins.

If you continued coverage during your 
leave: Your coverage continues. The waiting 
period (7, 30, 90, or 180 days) will be the 
same as before your leave began.

If you did not continue coverage during 
your leave or if you were not enrolled: You 
may enroll at any time by completing an 
Enrollment, Change, Cancellation, or Opt 
Out form.

Dependent Care 
Reimbursement 
Account (DCRA)

Contributions stop when your leave begins.

You can re-enroll within 31 days of 
returning to work by completing an 
Enrollment, Change, Cancellation, or Opt 
Out form.

If you do not re-enroll within 31 days, 
your next opportunity to enroll is during 
open enrollment, and your benefits will be 
effective for the following year.
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Benefit Plan While You Are Out When You Return

Health Care 
Reimbursement 
Account (HCRA)

If you are on an approved FMLA, you may 
choose to continue participation during 
your leave. In this case, eligible expenses 
incurred during your leave would
be reimbursable. If you choose not to 
continue HCRA participation, eligible 
expenses incurred through the end of the 
pay period in which you made the last 
contribution are eligible for reimbursement.

You can re-enroll within 31 days of 
returning to work by completing an 
Enrollment, Change, Cancellation, or Opt 
Out form.

If you do not re-enroll within 31 days,
your next opportunity to enroll is during 
open enrollment, and your benefits will
be effective for the following year.

If you were on leave less than 31 days: You 
may re-enroll for the remainder of the year 
and your contribution must be the same as 
before your leave began.

If you were on leave for 31 days or more: 
You may re-enroll and choose a new annual 
contribution.

Vacation Leave and 
Sick Leave

You do not accrue vacation or sick leave if 
not on pay status.

When you return to pay status, you will 
start accruing vacation and sick leave if you 
are in an eligible position.

401(k) Plan

Your contributions and loan payments, 
if applicable, will continue while on paid 
leave.

If you are on unpaid leave or your pay from 
LLNS is not enough to pay your full loan 
payment, you must make arrangements 
with Fidelity within 12 months of your last 
day on pay status. Your options include:

Make monthly Electronic Fund 
Transfers(EFTs) directly to Fidelity.

Make the full payment in advance for the 
period you will be off pay status.

Repay the outstanding amount in full.

If you do not elect one of these 
options within the 12-month period, the 
outstanding loan amount
will be reported as a taxable distribution.

When you return to pay status, savings 
deductions resume automatically.

If the leave was a USERRA (Military) Leave, 
you are eligible to make up any elective 
deferrals, catch- up contributions, and 
after-tax contributions and receive the 
applicable employer match that you would 
have made to the LLNS 401(k) plan while 
you were gone on an unpaid military leave. 
Please contact the Benefits Office for 
information upon returning from a USERRA 
(Military) Leave.
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Benefit Plan While You Are Out When You Return

LLNS Pension Plan

You remain eligible for any LLNS 
benefits you were entitled to 
when your leave began. If your 
leave is greater than three years, 
it will be considered a break in 
service.

Mandatory contributions resume automatically when 
you return to pay status.
If the leave was a USERRA (Military) Leave, 
Government Service Leave, or Workers’ 
Compensation Leave and you choose to make up 
the mandatory member contributions, you must do 
so within a prescribed time frame in order to be 
credited with Credited Service in the LLNS Defined 
Benefit Plan for the period of your leave. The amount 
of missed mandatory member contributions is based 
on the eligible plan compensation for such period.
Please contact the Benefits Office for information 
about service credit buyback upon returning from a 
USERRA (Military) Leave, Government Service Leave, 
or Workers’ Compensation Leave.
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