Yang elected to Fellowship in Institute of Physics

July 1, 2011

Lin Yang (Download Image)

Yang elected to Fellowship in Institute of Physics

Linda A Lucchetti, lucchetti1@llnl.gov, 925-422-5815
Lab physicist Lin Yang of the Condensed Matter and Materials Division (CMMD) has been named a fellow of the Institute of Physics in recognition of his "personal contribution to the advancement of physics as a discipline and a profession," as well as for his work in dual areas of multi-discipline physics.

"It's truly an honor to be recognized for something that I enjoy doing every day at the Lab," Yang said on receiving the news of his selection as fellow.

Yang received his Ph. D in physics from University of California, Davis. In 1989, he was a postdoctoral fellow at Argonne National Laboratory where he studied the localization behavior of a mixed quantum-classical system using time-dependent density functional theory.

He joined LLNL's H Division in 1991. As a member of the former Metals and Alloys Group and the current Equation of State (EOS) and Materials Theory Group in CMMD, Yang has developed the plane-wave pseudopotential quantum molecular dynamics simulation code and the Green's function molecular dynamics method on petascale computers.

His primary research interest is classical and quantum molecular dynamics simulations of materials under extreme conditions.

Yang has authored several papers on quantum molecular dynamics simulations of solids and liquids, and also served on the executive committee of the American Physical Society, California section, from 2006 to 2009. He frequently collaborates with scientists from universities and laboratories throughout the United States.

The Institute of Physics is a leading scientific society promoting physics and bringing physicists together for the benefit of all. It works to advance physics research, application and education, and engages with policy makers and the public to develop awareness and understanding of physics.

Fellowship in the Institute of Physics is awarded through the recommendation of colleagues and other fellows, to those who have "made an important contribution to physics, the profession of physicist, or as a physicist in their chosen career."