Two LLNL scientists selected as AAAS fellows

Dec. 18, 2008

Two LLNL scientists selected as AAAS fellows

LIVERMORE, Calif. – Don Correll and Edward Moses of the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory have been awarded the distinction of fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Selection as a fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. This year, 486 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold or blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, Feb. 14, at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2009 AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago.

This year’s AAAS fellows will be announced in the AAAS News & Notes section in the Dec. 19 issue of the journal Science .

Correll is honored for his “long-standing recognition and distinguished contributions to science education, including communications and materials targeted toward students, teachers and the general public.”

“I am deeply honored for this recognition by AAAS,” said Correll, who has been an AAAS member since 1987. “I also am extremely appreciative of the LLNL culture that has allowed me to be involved in science education side-by-side with my science research and science management responsibilities. As with many science awards, this recognition by AAAS would not have been possible without the help and support of my Laboratory colleagues.”

Moses is honored for his “distinguished scientific and engineering contributions leading to development and construction of the world’s largest and most energetic laser system, the National Ignition Facility.”

"For me, this award is a reflection of working on world-class challenges with world-class talent at a world-class lab. I am honored and thankful,” Moses said.

Correll was an experimental physicist in LLNL’s Magnetic Fusion Energy program from 1976-87; from 1988-97, he was a research member within the Laser Fusion Program. From 1998-2003, he directed LLNL’s Science & Technology Education Program. In 2004, Correll became the director for the Institute for Laser Science Applications (ILSA) along with joining the Associate Director’s Office of LLNL’s Physical and Life Sciences Directorate. Correll also is a fellow of the American Physical Society.

Correll earned his Ph.D. in plasma physics from the University of California at Irvine in 1976.  While at UC Irvine, he was both a UC Regents/Chancellor Fellow and a Hughes Foundation Doctoral Fellow.

“From a collective view, being an AAAS fellow reflects the outstanding quality of science and scientists at LLNL,” Correll said. “From a personal perspective, being an AAAS fellow can provide additional opportunities to engage others on the importance of including science education as part of a science career.”

Moses is the principal associate director for NIF and Photon Science at LLNL. Hehas 18 years of experience developing Department of Energy/National Nuclear Security Administration (DOE/NNSA) laser systems and 30 years of experience developing and managing complex laser systems and high-technology projects.

As associate director for the National Ignition Facility (NIF) Program from 2005-2007, he was responsible for completing construction and bringing into full operation the world’s largest optical instrument for achieving ignition in the laboratory and for studying inertial fusion energy.

Moses joined Lawrence Livermore in 1980, becoming program leader for Isotope Separation and Material Processing, and deputy associate director for Lasers. From 1990-95, he was a founding partner of Advanced Technology Applications, which advised clients on proposing on and designing high-technology projects. He returned to LLNL in 1995 as assistant associate director for program development, Physics and Space Technology.

Moses received his bachelor’s degree and doctorate from Cornell University in New York. He has won numerous awards, including the 2003 NNSA Award of Excellence for Significant Contribution to Stockpile Stewardship, the 2004 DOE Award of Excellence for the first joint LLNL/Los Alamos National Laboratory experiments on NIF, and the D.S. Rozhdestvensky Medal for Outstanding Contributions to Lasers and Optical Sciences. He holds seven patents in laser technology and computational physics.

The AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journal, Science .

AAAS was founded in 1848, and includes some 262 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals.

Founded in 1952, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory is a national security laboratory, with a mission to ensure national security and apply science and technology to the important issues of our time. Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory is managed by Lawrence Livermore National Security, LLC for the U.S. Department of Energy's National Nuclear Security Administration.