Feb. 13, 2003

Two Laboratory Researchers Named AAAS Fellows

LIVERMORE, Calif. — A former manager and one current researcher at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory have been named 2002 fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Jeff Wadsworth, former deputy director for Science & Technology and former associate director of Chemistry & Materials Science, resigned in June but was named an AAAS fellow in October for work he conducted while at the Laboratory. Wadsworth is now a senior executive with Battelle Corporation’s technology development and commercialization organization.

He was cited for his "distinguished contributions in developing advanced materials and superplasticity and in determining the origins and history of Damascus and other steels and for broad scientific leadership supporting national security."

Craig Smith, a nuclear engineer and project leader in the Energy and Environment Directorate, also was named a 2002 fellow. He was cited for his "distinguished contributions to the advancement of nuclear science and technology."

Smith has 30 years of experience in the nuclear and environmental fields both at the Laboratory and in private industry. Last year he was selected as a fellow of the American Nuclear Society.

"I consider it quite an honor to be named an AAAS fellow," Smith said. "I feel especially privileged to receive professional recognition from such a well-known and highly respected organization."

At the Laboratory, Smith oversees research in nuclear technology for national security issues and as a potential source of commercial energy. In addition, he has had oversight responsibility for the Laboratory’s support to the Department of Energy in monitoring the purchase of highly enriched uranium from Russia.

Smith has led several collaborative projects with institutions in the former Soviet Union, most recently serving as the project manager for the development of new radiation sensors with the Kharkiv Institute of Physics & Technology in the Ukraine and collaborating on the development of new approaches for the detection of explosives and other contraband. Smith also worked on the development of the robotic technologies for the cleanup of the Chernobyl nuclear power plant.

Each year, a group of peers selects AAAS members to become fellows. Awarded to 291 members this year, these researchers have been elevated to this rank because of their efforts to advance science or foster applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished.

This year’s fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, Feb. 15, at the fellow’s forum during the 2003 AAAS Annual Meeting in Denver, Colo.

The tradition of AAAS fellows’ distinction began in 1874. Members can be considered for the rank of fellow if nominated by the steering groups from the associations’ 24 sections or by any three fellows who are current AAAS members (as long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee’s institution) or the chief executive officer.

Each steering group then reviews the nominations and forwards a final list to the AAAS Council that votes on the finalists.

Founded in 1952, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory is a national security laboratory, with a mission to ensure national security and apply science and technology to the important issues of our time. Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory is managed by the University of California for the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Administration.

Laboratory news releases and photos are also available electronically on the World Wide Web of the Internet at URL http://www.llnl.gov/PAO and on UC Newswire.