LLNL's Díaz De La Rubia named 2007 AAAS Fellow

Oct. 25, 2007

LLNL's Díaz De La Rubia named 2007 AAAS Fellow

LIVERMORE, Calif. – Tomás Díaz de la Rubia of the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory has been awarded the distinction of fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Selection as a fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. This year 471 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, Feb. 16, from 8 to 10 a.m. at the Fellows Forum during the 2008 AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston.

Díaz de la Rubia, associate director for the Chemistry, Materials, Earth and Life Science (CMELS) Directorate, was one of 34 fellows elected in the physics category for distinguished contributions to computational materials science and radiation damage in materials.

“It’s a great honor,” Díaz de la Rubia said. “I’m thrilled to be among the rank of so many talented researchers who delve into the frontiers of science and technology.”

This year’s AAAS fellows will be announced in the AAAS News & Notes section in the Oct. 26 issue of the journal Science .

Díaz de la Rubia joined LLNL as a postdoc in 1989 after completing his Ph.D. in physics at the State University of New York at Albany. He carried out his thesis research in the Materials Science Division at Argonne National Laboratory and in the Materials Science Department at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

The focus of his scientific work has been the investigation, via large-scale computer simulation, of defects, diffusion and microstructure evolution in materials in extreme environments.

At LLNL, he first worked on materials issues for the fusion program and then became a full-time staff member in the Chemistry and Materials Sciences (CMS) Directorate in 1994.

Between 1994 and 1996, he focused his research activities around the development of physics-based predictive models of ion implantation and thin film growth for semiconductor processing in collaboration with Bell Labs, Intel, Applied Materials, IBM and other semiconductor corporations. Between 1994 and 2002 he also was involved in the development of multiscale models of materials strength and aging in irradiation environments and worked in the ASC Program developing models of materials strength.

In 1999 he became group leader for Computational Materials Science and helped build and lead an international recognized effort in computational materials science at LLNL. Between 2000 and 2002, he served as the CMS Materials Program Leader for NIF where he focused on optical materials and target development for NIF applications.

Díaz de la Rubia has published more than 140 peer-reviewed articles in the scientific literature, has chaired numerous international conferences and workshops and has edited several conference proceedings and special journal issues. He belongs to the editorial board of five major scientific journals, and continues to serve in numerous national and international panels. He served as an elected member of the Board of Directors of the Materials Research Society between 2002 and 2005 and was elected a fellow of the American Physical Society in 2002.

He is currently the vice chair (chair elect) of the Division of Computational Physics of the APS.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the association’s 24 sections, or by any three fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee’s institution), or by the AAAS chief executive officer.

Each steering group then reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.

The AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journal, Science .

AAAS was founded in 1848, and includes some 262 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals.

Founded in 1952, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory is a national security laboratory, with a mission to ensure national security and apply science and technology to the important issues of our time. Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory is managed by Lawrence Livermore National Security, LLC for the U.S. Department of Energy's National Nuclear Security Administration.