LLNL researchers authored five of top 10 cited papers in Physics of Plasmas

Sept. 27, 2012

LLNL researchers authored five of top 10 cited papers in Physics of Plasmas

Five out of the top 10 Physics of Plasma (PoP) papers for all time have LLNL researchers as first authors and co-authors.

This recognition by the scientific community is strongly indicative of LLNL's signature core competencies in plasma physics and high-energy-density science.

The five LLNL-authored papers in the Physics of Plasmas' "top 10 list" are:

  1. J. Lindl, "Development of the indirect-drive approach to inertial confinement fusion and the target physics basis for ignition and gain." Phys. Plasmas 2 , 3933 (1995); (92 pages), cited 796 times.
  2. M Tabak, J Hammer, M.E. Glinsky, W.L. Kruer, S.C. Wilks, J Woodworth, E.M. Campbell, M.D. Perry, and R.J. Mason, "Ignition and high gain with ultrapowerful lasers." Phys. Plasmas 1 , 1626 (1994);  (9 pages),  cited 664 times.
  3. S.P. Hatchett, C.G. Brown, T..E. Cowan, E.A. Henry, J.S. Johnson, M.H. Key, J.A. Koch, A.B.Langdon, B.F. Lasinski, R.W. Lee, A.J. Mackinnon, D.M. Pennington, M.D. Perry, T.W. Phillips, M.Roth, et al., "Electron, photon, and ion beams from the relativistic interaction of Petawatt laser pulses with solid targets." Phys. Plasmas 7 , 2076 (2000);  (7 pages), cited 419 times.
  4. S. C. Wilks, A. B. Langdon, T. E. Cowan, M. Roth, M. Singh, S. Hatchett, M. H. Key, D. Pennington, A. MacKinnon, and R. A. Snavely, "Energetic proton generation in ultra-intense laser-solid interactions." Phys. Plasmas 8 , 542 (2001);  (8 pages), cited 415 times.
  5. A. M. Dimits, G. Bateman, M. A. Beer, B. I. Cohen, W. Dorland, G. W. Hammett, C. Kim, J. E. Kinsey, M. Kotschenreuther, A. H. Kritz, L. L. Lao, J. Mandrekas, W. M. Nevins, S. E. Parker, A. J. Redd, et al., "Comparisons and physics basis of tokamak transport models and turbulence simulations." Phys. Plasmas 7 , 969 (2000);  (15 pages), cited 380 times.
For a full list, go to the Scitation Website.